thewildsix

A family of six and their fearless journey through life, love and the pursuit of all things yummy

Fear #4 – Being a Rotten Parent May 10, 2012

Filed under: Fear Factor — Brandi @ 1:33 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I read a great parental nugget in a book once….once, sometime, a long time ago, when I had time to read…anyway, the gist was this; you think you’re a great person until you have children

It’s one of those mornings that emotionally brings you to your parental knees. You say and do things that you had once told yourself, “I’ll NEVER be like that. I’ll NEVER say that.” And then it’s flying out of your mouth and you just want to put a hook in it and reel it in. You know you’re giving your kids something to tell their therapist. Ugh…

Someone please tell me the way to happy-healthy-simpatico-joie-de-vive-balanced-well-adjusted kids land. The thing that’s comforting at times like this is that I know I’m not alone. Parents from the dawn of parenthood have felt like this and we all manage to survive. I don’t want to survive, I want to thrive.

So how do you transition from survival mom to “thrival” mom?

 

6 Responses to “Fear #4 – Being a Rotten Parent”

  1. Nicole Says:

    Here’s what I do when I have had “one of those mornings”. I usually apologize later to my kids and tell them that parents make mistakes. However, use it as a learning tool for them too. “How can we make the mornings go smoother?” “What can they do to not make mommy go crazy?”, etc. Oh, and I pray a lot, forgive myself and try to do better the next time. šŸ™‚

  2. magnumlady Says:

    We all have bad days. Your kids will be fine šŸ™‚

    • Brandi Says:

      Kids are resilient, but in the moment, you think, “Ugh….I’ve ruined them!” Every mother lays in bed at night and wonders what she could have done differently. Just keep on keepin’ on, right?

  3. mypenandme Says:

    May I suggest taking some “me” time. Often we spend so much time taking such very good care of others that we forget to adequately nurture ourselves. If we burn ourselves out, we are not much good to anyone. If we take care of our own needs regularly, even if only in small ways, we have so much more to offer. Just my two cents. šŸ™‚

    • Brandi Says:

      Me time is where it’s at! Having 4 kids can really run you ragged and I really don’t want to burn out. I’m hoping when the twins head to pre-school, there will be more “me” time and I can focus on my writing! Your two cents are always welcome.


Leave a Reply

